• Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • LinkedIn

Asian Universities Alliance Summit 2018

9 Apr 2018

Prof. Devang Khakhar, Director, IIT Bombay and Prof. P.M. Mujumdar, Deputy Director (Finance and External Affairs), were in Hainan, China, for attending the the second Asian Universities Alliance Summit on April 9, 2018.

The Asian Universities Alliance (AUA) is a regional organization established in 2017 with the aim of jointly addressing regional and global challenges, specifically related to higher education and economic, scientific and technological development, by strengthening collaboration among member institutions. AUA acknowledges and promotes shared identity and values in working towards this mission.

Prof. Khakhar also attended the Boao Forum For Asia (BFA) Annual Conference 2018 held from April 8 to 11 in Boao, Hainan Province. Chinese President Xi Jinping delivered a keynote speech at the opening ceremony. The theme of this year’s BFA Annual Conference was “An Open and Innovative Asia for a World of Greater Prosperity". The Presidents of the AUA universities participated in the roundtable discussion entitled 'The Rise of Asian Universities'. The participants discussed issues such as the responsibilities and missions of Asian universities, the impact of Asian universities in the Fourth Industrial Revolution, innovation and the transfer of technology. 

Member Universities (15):

  • Chulalongkorn University, Thailand
  • Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong
  • Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, India
  • King Saud University, Saudi Arabia
  • National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Nazarbayev University, Kazakhstan
  • Peking University, China
  • Seoul National University, Republic of Korea
  • Tsinghua University, China
  • United Arab Emirates University, United Arab Emirates
  • Universitas Indonesia, Indonesia
  • University of Colombo, Sri Lanka
  • University of Malaya, Malaysia
  • The University of Tokyo, Japan
  • University of Yangon, Myanmar