• Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • LinkedIn

Prof. Ashok Misra

Period of Directorship: 
8 May 2000 to 4 October 2008
Prof. Ashok Misra is currently the Chairman of Intellectual Ventures India, Bangalore, a position he took over in October 2008. Prior to this he was the Director of Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, from 2000 to 2008. Prof. Misra obtained his B.Tech. in Chemical Engineering from IIT Kanpur in 1968, M.S. in Chemical Engineering from Tufts University in 1969 and Ph.D. in Polymer Science & Engineering from University of Massachusetts in 1974. After working in Monsanto Chemical Co. for three years he joined IIT Delhi in 1977 where he served as the Head of the Centre for Polymer Science & Engineering, Dean, Alumni Affairs & International Programmes and was the Reliance Chair Professor. He attended the Executive Development Programme, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University in 1999. Prof. Misra is on the Board of Directors of Reliance Industries Ltd., and Rashtriya Chemicals & Fertilizers Ltd. and was on the Board of National Thermal Power Corporation Ltd. for 6 years. He is a Fellow of National Academy of Sciences India and was its President from 2006-08, Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering, Fellow of the Maharashtra Academy of Sciences, Hon. Fellow of the Indian Institute of Chemical Engineers and Indian Plastics Institute. He is a member of a large number of professional societies. Prof. Misra was a member of the Scientific Advisory committee to the Cabinet, Govt. of India; is a member of the International Academic Advisory Panel, Govt. of Singapore; International Advisory Board of College of Engineering, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA and the Independent Scientific Advisory Board for the African Institute of Sci. & Tech. of the World Bank. He is or has been on the Governing / Advisory Boards of several national institutes, which include Visvesvaraya National Institute of Technology, Veermata Jijabai Technological Institute, Indian Institute of Space Technology, National Brain Research Centre, Sree Chitra Tirunal Institute for Medical Sciences and Tech., Tata Institute of Fundamental Research and Whistling Woods International. He also serves as Member Expert or Advisor in several national committees for research and development programmes in India. He has received several awards which include S.S. Bhatnagar Memorial Award at the 94th Science Congress in 2007; IIT Kanpur Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2008; University of Massachusetts 2008 Distinguished Alumnus Award; Chemtech CEW Awards (Education) in 2007; National Systems Gold Medal of the Systems Society of India in 2006; Tufts University Engineering Award in 2005; Qimpro Platinum Standard Award (Education) in 2005; Materials Research Society of India Medal in 2002. He was elected as a Visiting Fellow Commoner, Trinity College, Univ. of Cambridge in 2003 and was awarded the Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) by Thapar University, Patiala in 2007. He has co-authored a book, has 6 patents and has over 100 international publications to his credit. He is on the editorial board of 2 international and 2 national journals. He has guided 20 Doctoral and 52 Masters theses and has undertaken a number of sponsored research projects and industrial consultancy assignments. He has organized several international/national conferences and short courses.