• Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Google+
  • LinkedIn

IIT Bombay Celebrates Foundation Day

12 Mar 2020

* 7 received Distinguished Alumnus Awards | * 4 honored with Young Alumnus Achiever Awards | * 2 faculty members awarded for excellence in research work | *12 faculty members awarded IIT Bombay Research Awards for 2018 | *1 faculty member awarded Prof. Krithi Ramamritham Award for Creative Research for 2018

IIT Bombay celebrated its Foundation Day, the 61st anniversary of its inception on March 11, 2020 by honouring the contributions of its faculty members as well as erstwhile students, who as alumni have left their indelible imprint on their chosen fields of profession. 

The ceremony commenced with a welcome address by the Director of IIT Bombay Professor Subhasis Chaudhuri, highlighting key milestones achieved by the Institute in 61 years. Welcoming the guests, he said, “IIT Bombay stood 1st in India and 44th in the world in the recently released QS World University Rankings 2020 by Subject. We are proud that IIT Bombay has provided quality education to thousands of students. Over the years, we have also enhanced our presence in research. Today, more than 30 percent of our students are enrolled in PhD programmes. We are proud that IIT is contributing to society with the efforts of its faculty members and students”.  

The Chief Guest of the function Prof. Ashutosh Sharma, Secretary, Department of Science and Technology, Government of India, in his address, said “IIT Bombay has made rapid progress in 61 years. The Institute is showing an upward performance and we should further aim to be one of the top 20 institutions in the next 10 years. More and more bright students are opting for PhD programmes and research. Students should give real contributions to the society which will contribute towards problem solving. IIT Bombay is going in the right direction and in the right speed“. 

The Institute on the occasion, honoured its select alumni for their achievements in diverse fields ranging from academics, research and entrepreneurship. The 'Prof. S. C. Bhattacharya Award for Excellence in Research in Pure Sciences' and 'Prof. H.H. Mathur Award for Excellence in Research in Applied Sciences, IIT Bombay Research Awards for the year 2018, the Distinguished Alumnus Awards and Young Alumnus Achiever Awards’ were given away by Prof. Sharma.

The 'Prof. S.C. Bhattacharya Award for Excellence in Research in Pure Sciences' was conferred on Prof. Kanchan Pande, Department of Earth Sciences. The 'Prof. H.H. Mathur Award for Excellence in Research in Applied Sciences’ was conferred on Prof. Sunita Sarawagi, Department of Computer Science & Engineering.

The IIT Bombay Research Awards 2018 including Research Publication Awards, Impactful Research Award, Research Dissemination Award, Early Research Achiever Awards and Prof. Krithi Ramamritham Award for Creative Research for the year 2018 were also presented during the function. The awardees include:

1) Research Publication Award 2018 

  • Prof. Ranjith Padinhateeri, Department of Biosciences and Bioengineering
  • Prof. Pradeepkumar P. I., Department of Chemistry
  • Prof. Santanu Banerjee, Department of Earth Sciences
  • Prof. S. S. Pande, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Prof. Indrajit Mukherjee, Shailesh J. Mehta School of Management 

2) Impactful Research Award 2018

  • Prof. Anil Kumar, Department of Chemistry
  • Prof. Om Damani, Department of Computer Science and Engineering 

3) Research Dissemination Award 2018

  • Prof. Narayan S. Punekar, Department of Bioscience and Bioengineering
  • Prof. Amartya Mukhopadhyay, Department of Metallurgical Engineering and Materials Science 

4) Early Research Achiever Award 2018

  • Prof. Kamendra P. Sharma, Department of Chemistry
  • Prof. Vikram Vishal, Department of Earth Sciences
  • Prof. (Ms.) Aswani Yella, Department of Metallurgical Engineering and Materials Science

5) Prof. Krithi Ramamritham Award for Creative Research 2018

  • Prof. Sujit S. Jogwar, Department of Chemical Engineering 

The Institute had long felt the need to recognize the alumni of IIT Bombay, who have excelled in their field of work and made the Institute proud. With this intention, the Distinguished Alumnus Awards (DAA) have been instituted. The awardees this year include:

  • Prof. Varadarajan V. Chari
  • Prof. Janat Shah
  • Mr. Surendra Murlidhar Vaidya
  • Dr. Mayuresh V. Kothare
  • Prof. Gaurav S. Sukhatme
  • Prof. Kavita Ramanan
  • Mr. Abidali Z. Neemuchwala 

The Young Alumnus Achiever Awards (YAAA) are for alumni who have made outstanding achievements in their chosen field of work and are below 40 years of age. These awards were instituted in the year 2011. The awardees this year include: 

  • Mr. Shaikh Shahnawaz
  • Mr. Ankit Mehta
  • Mr. Rahul Singh
  • Mr. Ashish Bhat